Newry Councillors appointed to Warrenpoint Harbour Authority Board

Posted by
Thursday, March 19th, 2020

Infrastructure Minister, Nichola Mallon has announced the appointment of three Newry, Mourne and Down District Councillors to the Board of Warrenpoint Harbour Authority (WHA).

The Board is responsible for operating, maintaining and improving Warrenpoint Port.

Article continues below

The Minister has appointed Councillor Karen McKevitt, Councillor Cathy Mason and Councillor Glyn Hanna.



Councillors McKevitt and Mason have been appointed for a first-term with effect from 1 March 2020.

Councillor Hanna has been appointed to a second term effective from 22 August 2020.

The Councillors were nominated by Newry, Mourne and Down District Council and appointed following a selection process.



Minister Mallon said, “I congratulate Councillors Hanna, McKevitt and Mason on their appointment to the Board of Warrenpoint Harbour Authority.

“I am confident that their experience and knowledge of local issues will add significant value to the work of the Authority and its continued role in contributing to the local community and the wider regional economy,” she added.

The Minister also paid tribute to the outgoing Board Member, saying, “I would also thank Councillor Sean Doran for his valuable contribution to the WHA Board during his tenure.”



These appointments have been made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland’s Code of Practice.


For more of today’s top stories in Newry and beyond, click here.  



Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed


This website does not share personal information with third parties nor do we store any information about your visit other than to analyze and optimize your content and reading experience through the use of cookies. You can turn off the use of cookies at anytime by changing your specific browser settings.

We are not responsible for republished content from this blog on other blogs or websites without our permission. This privacy policy is subject to change without notice and was last updated on 16/01/2017. If you have any questions feel free to contact Newry Times by emailing

Log in