Newry business leader shortlisted for national award

Posted by
Tuesday, August 27th, 2019
Business, Community

Newry businesswoman Naoimh McAteer has been named in the shortlist of the UK-wide Institute of Directors (IoD) Director of the Year Awards.

Naoimh, Director of MJM Group, was named Young Director of the Year at the Northern Ireland Director of the Year Awards earlier this year and is now up for a national accolade at a ceremony at The Brewery in the City of London this October.

Article continues below

She is one of a number of Northern Ireland business leaders to have made the shortlist which also features William Barnett of W&R Barnett, shortlisted for the prestigious Chair’s Award, Nick Whelan of Dale Farm, candidate for large business director of the year, and Jackie Henry MBE of Deloitte who is among the finalists in the inclusivity category.



MJM Group is a leading international specialist in cruise ship refurbishment, refit and interior fit out services.

In her role as director, Naoimh led negotiations for the company’s Azamara Pursuit Project, the largest cruise ship refit programme to come to Belfast in recent history.



The full list of Northern Ireland-based directors in the shortlist is:

Director of the Year – Chair’s Award – William Barnett, W&R Barnett
Director of the Year – Family Business – Angela Bennett, Diamond Systems
Director of the Year – Inclusivity – Jackie Henry MBE, Deloitte
Director of the Year – Innovation – Alan Lowry, Environmental Street Furniture
Director of the Year – International – Lisa McLaughlin, Herbert Smith Freehills
Director of the Year – Large – Nick Whelan, Dale Farm
Director of the Year – Non-Executive – Mark Ennis, SSE Airtricity
Director of the Year – Public Sector – Jill Minne, Northern Ireland Civil Service
Director of the Year – SME – Angela Bennett, Diamond Systems
Director of the Year – Start-Up – Robert McConnell, Pinnacle Professional
Director of the Year – Third Sector – Carol Fitzsimons, Young Enterprise NI
Director of the Year – Young – Naoimh McAteer, MJM Group



Gordon Milligan, IoD NI Chairman, said, “Leaders from Northern Ireland have enjoyed tremendous success at the national IoD Director of the Year Awards over recent years, as our region continues to punch above its weight on the grand stage.

“With an exceptionally high calibre of shortlisted directors representing organisations across the private, public, and third sectors, I have no doubt they will shine as brightly this year as ever before.

He added, “Congratulations go to all the nominees that prove the level of management and leadership among the business community in Northern Ireland is of the very highest standard.”



Entries across the 13 categories will be evaluated by a panel of acclaimed judges including Duncan Wardle, former vice-president of innovation and creativity at Disney, Kathryn Baddeley, head of CSR at Cisco UK and Ireland, and Jacqui McKinlay, chief executive of the Centre for Public Scrutiny.

The event at The Brewery, which occupies the site of Samuel Whitbread’s historic brewhouse in the City of London will be hosted by renowned newscaster Sir Trevor McDonald.



Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed


This website does not share personal information with third parties nor do we store any information about your visit other than to analyze and optimize your content and reading experience through the use of cookies. You can turn off the use of cookies at anytime by changing your specific browser settings.

We are not responsible for republished content from this blog on other blogs or websites without our permission. This privacy policy is subject to change without notice and was last updated on 16/01/2017. If you have any questions feel free to contact Newry Times by emailing

Log in