Excitement builds for Newry Mitchels GFC Under 12 Football Blitz

Posted by
Friday, May 29th, 2015
Community, Sport, What's On
Newry Mitchels GFC will host their annual underage football blitz tournament at Derryleckagh playing fields, on Saturday 30th May 2015, commencing at 9.30am when all participating teams will parade behind Mayobridge Band. mitchells1 With 46 teams from thirteen counties having secured places at this year’s tournament, underage teams are expected from as far away as County Derry, Donegal, Dublin, Meath, Laois, Kildare and for the first time ever a team from Connacht, Clann na nGael from County Roscommon. The highly regarded tournament offers a unique opportunity for boys and girls of varying ability to participate and compete in one of Ulster’s most esteemed underage competitions. As always, entrants to this hugely successful event will compete for the prestigious John Mitchel Shield, as well as the Patrick McAleavey Plate. Last year’s winners were Erin’s Own, Lavey of Derry and An Tearmann of Donegal. Lavey’s Enda Downey – Henry’s nephew – won the player of the tournament accolade for the second year running. The Newry Mitchels club pride themselves on providing a fun family festival of football and this year will be no exception. With catering and first aid available throughout the day, the Newry Mitchels GFC Under12 football blitz represents an exciting sporting venture for our heroes of tomorrow. Club Chair Neil Manley looks forward to welcoming all visiting clubs to Newry Mitchels GFC forthcoming Under 12 Blitz. He said, “The Newry Mitchels annual underage blitz gives young people from different backgrounds the chance to compete at an inter-county level, growing up I remember the excitement before attending a tournament with your club. mitchells2He added, “I am extremely proud of our club and all club members who help each year to make our blitz a continued success.” The Newry Mitchels GFC Under 10 blitz has been a mainstay in the County Down GAA calendar since its inception in the late 1980s and was changed to under 12 level in 2010. The tournament has played host to club teams such as the mighty Crossmaglen Rangers (Armagh), Lavey (Derry), St. Brigids (Antrim) and St. Peregrine’s (Dublin) to name but a few. Players such as Benny Coulter, Ambrose Rodgers, Mark Poland, Ronan Murtagh and Jamie Clarke have all participated in Newry Mitchel’s annual blitz and as such its standing as one of the most prestigious underage tournaments in Ulster is unquestionable.


The stars of tomorrow will descend on Derryleckagh playing fields from 9.00am and competing teams can expect a warm welcome from the Newry Mitchels club members. 9.45 am: Following registration there will be a Welcome Parade with the renowned Mayobridge Band. 10.00am:  Opening round of games. Played over eight pitches at the Derrylecka playing fields complex, teams will compete in a group league format, each team playing other teams in their group once. 3.00pm: Quarter finals 4.00pm (approx.): Finals 4.30pm: Presentation Teams will compete on an eleven aside basis over a twenty minute period (ten minutes each half). Games will be administered by official County Board referees.
Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed


This website does not share personal information with third parties nor do we store any information about your visit other than to analyze and optimize your content and reading experience through the use of cookies. You can turn off the use of cookies at anytime by changing your specific browser settings.

We are not responsible for republished content from this blog on other blogs or websites without our permission. This privacy policy is subject to change without notice and was last updated on 16/01/2017. If you have any questions feel free to contact Newry Times by emailing editor@newrytimes.com

Log in