Newry and Mourne Special Olympics takes to the saddle

Posted by
Monday, April 29th, 2013
Mayor John McArdle made his way out to Wendy McCrea’s riding School in Newry to congratulate the eleven athletes and many more aspiring athletes who took part in Special Olympics horse riding. This is a new Sport for Special Olympic Athletes in our area and Wendy McCrea from the Oakwood Riding School is the head coach for the Club. Wendy did tremendous work to bring the athletes to the high standard that they achieved at the Coleraine Competition. The Medal Tally was a massive 10 gold, 7 silver, 1 bronze, 1x4th ribbon and 1x6th ribbon. Top score of the day went to Gary Hanratty who scored 93 and came second in his section, which shows the level of competition. Best on the day with Gold medals for both competitions equitation and working trails were Dearbhail Savage and Meabh Robb followed closely by Peadar Connolly who got a gold and silver, as did Jill Connery, Aisling Thornton, Helen Murphy and Dessie McAllister. Rebecca Devlin got Silver and Bronze Rois Eireann Bogue got silver. The Chairman Mr Bernard Robb congratulated everyone involved in developing the athletes and club, especially Wendy who has given Special Olympics a home on the Benagh Road Newry where everyone is welcome. The Mayor said, “I am delighted to meet the people supporting and the Saddle and Reins Club, it is great to see young people with special needs showing off their talents in such a good and healthy way.” Equitation Jill Connery 1st Place –CS division 2 (41) Dearbhail Savage 1st Place –CS division 3 (53) Peadar Connolly 2nd Place Division 4 (53) Rois Eireann Bogue 5th Place Division 4 (48) Meabh Robb 1st Place CI Division 5 (54) Aisling Thornton 1st Place CI Division 6 (52) Helen Murphy 2nd Place Div 9 BS (46) Desmond McAllister 2nd Place BS Division 10 (54) Gary Hanratty 1st Place BI Division 11 (65) Rebecca Devlin 2nd Place BI (63) Aoife Kearney 6th Place BI Division 11 (52) 5 Gold medals 3 Silver and 1 6th ribbon. Working Trails Peadar Connolly 1st Place CS Division 3 (75) Jill Connery 2nd Place CS Division 3 (69) Dearbhail Savage 1st Place Division 4 (75) Division 4 (72) Meabh Robb 1st Place CI Division 5 (74) Aislinn Thornton 2nd Place CI Division 5 (73) Helen Murphy 1st Place BS Division 6 (77) Desmond McAllister 1st Place BS Division 8 (84) Garry Hanratty 2nd Place BI Division 9 (93) Rebecca Devlin 3rd Place BI Division 9 (91) Aoife Kearney 4th Place BI division 9 (90) 5 Gold medals and 4 Silver 1 Bronze and 1 ribbon.
Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed


This website does not share personal information with third parties nor do we store any information about your visit other than to analyze and optimize your content and reading experience through the use of cookies. You can turn off the use of cookies at anytime by changing your specific browser settings.

We are not responsible for republished content from this blog on other blogs or websites without our permission. This privacy policy is subject to change without notice and was last updated on 16/01/2017. If you have any questions feel free to contact Newry Times by emailing

Log in