Newry’s unsung heroes celebrated at Youth and Future Talent Awards

Posted by
Wednesday, April 20th, 2016
After months of planning and hard work by young people from the Newry and Mourne Youth Council and Down Youth Council (Education Authority) came to fruition when the Youth and Future Talent Awards (YAFTAs) were held in the Canal Court Hotel, Newry. yafta2016This was a programme delivered in partnership between the Youth Councils and Newry, Mourne and Down District Council. The YAFTAs were created by young people for young people to highlight the ‘unsung heroes’ throughout the district who do not normally receive recognition for the contribution they make to their families, their schools and in the wider community with all aspects of the programme being planned, designed and managed by the Youth Councils. Newry, Mourne and Down District Council Vice Chairperson, Councillor Gillian Fitzpatrick said, “I would like to congratulate all of the young people nominated for these awards, whether individually or as a group, winner or runner up. “Young people across our district are involved in some fantastic youth work programmes, volunteering, supporting of their peers, friends and families and this deserves to be highlighted and recognised. She added, “The Youth and Future Talent Awards allow us all to recognise and celebrate the achievements of our young people with the huge number of nominations highlighting the positive impact the young people have made to the Newry, Mourne and Down District.” The event was supported by the Office of the First and Deputy First Minister through its Good Relations Programme, the Policing and Community Safety Partnership, Newry Credit Union, KCYC Youth Forum EA, CR Wheels Downpatrick, FM Environmental Newry and Bayview Contracts, Newry.
Article continues below:
cr morrow april 2016 The Winners and Runners-Up in the six categories were: Good Relations Award: Winner: YEPIE Youth Exchange Programme Runner-up: LOHAH, Kilkeel Young Carer Award: Winner: Chloe Watt Runner-up: Niamh Kearney Community Safety Award: Winner: Killean Youth Group Runner-up: Newry Youth Forum Voice of Young People Award: Winner: Tara Connolly Runner up: Ross Connolly Creativity and Innovation Award: Winner: Project 500, Assumption Grammar School Runner-up: Carnagat Youth Group Inspirational Young Person Award: Winner: Ryan Bogues Runner-up: Ryan McGivern
Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed


This website does not share personal information with third parties nor do we store any information about your visit other than to analyze and optimize your content and reading experience through the use of cookies. You can turn off the use of cookies at anytime by changing your specific browser settings.

We are not responsible for republished content from this blog on other blogs or websites without our permission. This privacy policy is subject to change without notice and was last updated on 16/01/2017. If you have any questions feel free to contact Newry Times by emailing

Log in