Woods named in Ulster Rugby’s U18 Girls Development squad | Latest Newry News, Newry Sport and Newry Business for Newry City

Woods named in Ulster Rugby’s U18 Girls Development squad

Newry RFC player Chelsea Woods has been selected for Ulster Rugby’s U18 Girls Development squad for a series of fixtures against the other provinces.

Ireland Women’s Head Coach Philip Doyle is pictured with Newry player Chelsea Woods

Woods travelled to Dublin with the squad on Saturday for their first two matches and despite losing 14-5 to Munster and 22-5 to Connacht, the girls equipped themselves well in highly competitive fixtures.

The series will be completed on 30th November at Queen’s University Arena, Belfast, when the girls will take on their Leinster counterparts at 12pm, immediately prior to the Senior Women’s inter-pro which kicks off at Ravenhill at 2.30pm.

The U18 girls development squad was established by Ulster Rugby staff who wanted to capitalise on increased awareness of female rugby following Ireland Women’s 6 Nations success in March.

The wide representation from clubs across Ulster is testament to the strong development work done by both Ulster Rugby and its affiliated clubs.

The squad received a boost ahead of Saturday’s games when Philip Doyle, Head Coach of Ireland Women, attended Wednesday’s training session in Armagh to give some advice to the girls.

Philip provided support to Ulster’s coaching team of Jonny Gillespie (Head Coach), Johnny Graham (Forwards Coach), Darren McGuigan (Backs coach), Zoe Templeton and Glenda Mellon (Management) as well as taking the chance to look at some stars of the future.

Ulster U18 Girls Squad: Amy McElchar (Finn Valley), Anna Wolsey (Bangor), Beccie McCauley (Armagh), Beth Cregan (Cooke), Beth Marsh, Cake Moore (both Malone), Chelsea Woods (Newry), Danielle Preston, Ellen Mudoon (both Finn Valley), Enya O’Callaghan (Donegal), Erin Caughey (Malone), Helen McDermott (Cavan), Karen Ward (Finn Valley), Laura Henderson, Molly Lavery (both Armagh), Morna O’Hanlon (Cavan), Niamh McCord, Rachel Totten (both Armagh), Rachel Browne-Murray (Malone), Ruth Shovlin (Finn Valley), Shannon Lane (Cavan), Shannon Heapes (Finn Valley), Storm Cobain, Tammy-Lee Wood (both Malone), Vicky Irwin (Armagh), Zoe Cooke (Bangor), Zoe Marshall (Omagh).

Short URL: https://newrytimes.com/?p=37002

Posted by on Nov 25 2013. Filed under Sport. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed

Find us on Facebook

Log in | Designed by Gabfire themes