Legislation laid on eleven new council boundaries

Newry Times News Posted by
Tuesday, May 1st, 2012

The draft Local Government (Boundaries) Order has been laid in the Assembly. The legislation will set the boundaries of eleven new local government districts as well as the number, boundaries and names of the wards into which each district will be divided.

Environment Minister Alex Attwood said, “The draft Order is a further step towards the reorganisation of local government. The purpose of the Order is to set the boundaries of the new local government districts and their wards. After extensive public consultation, the Local Government Boundaries Commissioner recommended the boundaries of the eleven new districts. The Assembly accepted the recommendations with two slight modifications. The Order will be considered by the Environment Committee. If councils or others have views on the boundaries, they will have the opportunity to advise the Committee. Before the summer, I hope the boundaries will be debated in the Assembly.”

He added, “I believe in radical reform. This extends to across public policy in Northern Ireland. It includes councils.”

The first meeting of the reform programme’s Regional Transition Committee will also take place today. It will be chaired by the Minister and will have political representation from each council cluster and NILGA. The committee will provide high level political leadership in delivering local government reform.

Would you like to advertise your business on Newry Times and reach thousands of people every day? Contact the Newry Times office on 028 4062 6520 or email Paul: editor@newrytimes.com

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed

Find us on Facebook


This website does not share personal information with third parties nor do we store any information about your visit other than to analyze and optimize your content and reading experience through the use of cookies. You can turn off the use of cookies at anytime by changing your specific browser settings.

We are not responsible for republished content from this blog on other blogs or websites without our permission. This privacy policy is subject to change without notice and was last updated on 16/01/2017. If you have any questions feel free to contact Newry Times by emailing editor@newrytimes.com

Log in